Board of Education » About the LISD School Board

About the LISD School Board

About the District Board

The Lumberton ISD Board of Trustees is composed of seven elected individuals who serve without pay as the governing management of the public schools of the district. Regular meetings of the Board shall be held on the Thursday after the first Monday of each month at 7:00 PM at the Administration Board Room, 121 S. Main. 

Administrative Officer
Dr. Tony Tipton, Superintendent of Schools



The Board of Education functions as the school district's policy-making body and is the official representative of the people for education in Lumberton ISD. The Board functions according to State and Federal laws, the rules and regulations established by the State Board of Education, the Texas Education Agency and local district policies.




The Board is composed of seven members, which acts officially only as a group. No member or group of members acts in the name of the Board unless authorized by the entire Board. A majority of the board constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business. Individual trustees, serving without pay, are elected for three-year terms on a rotating basis. Elections are conducted on the first Saturday in May each year. Although candidates run for specific positions on the ballot, they represent the whole district when elected as Board members.



The Board of Trustees elects a president, vice-president and secretary to serve one-year terms. The Board also selects and employs the superintendent and delegates the responsibility and authority for the operation of the school district to that chief executive.